Pets!

                Growing up I never had a pet because my parents just didn’t want the work of one. The most we’ve had is a goldfish that only lasted a couple of days. Now, my oldest sister is married and has lots of pets that I pretty much consider my own. She has three pugs (Jackson, Chloe, and Chewy) and two bunnies (Chuey and Cody). I have always wanted a dog growing up so I’m always over their house playing with them. Jackson is going to be 13 years old and Chloe and Chewy were just adopted this summer and are two years old. They are all great dogs and very friendly which makes it easy to have them around my nieces. The bunnies I don’t really spend time with because they are mostly just in their cage because they tend to run everywhere but when they are out they’re fun to watch. When I grow up I think I will definitely get a dog because I think they make great pets.

               I don’t have any restrictions on my diet and am pretty much up to trying anything. However, there are some animals that I wouldn’t consider trying. I’ve tried some seafood, venison, duck, and pig and that’s about as extreme as it will get. I would never consider trying anything out of what I normally eat which is chicken, beef, and turkey. I think that the reason why I would never consider trying anything else is because I would be nervous of what it would taste like and wouldn’t be able to get past the mental part of “Oh my God I’m about to eat —!“.  Eating different foods is definitely a mental game for me because if I think about something too much and the texture of what I’m eating I will gross myself out and not be able to do it. I don’t really think about the animal in terms of what it had to go through for me to eat it even though I know that sounds terrible. I love animals so I guess I should be more conscious of what I’m eating.

               I’m not too much of a baby when it comes to animals but there are some that I really don’t like to be around. Some animals just plain gross me out! For example, mice really gross me out because the fact that they can go anywhere because they don’t have bones is just such a weird concept! I’m afraid of vicious animals like the ones you hear of attacking people because I’m pretty small and wouldn’t be able to protect myself if I was in the situation with one. Other than that I like most animals and think some are really fascinating.

               If I was to look at the above three questions and come up with some sort of conclusion of what they say about me as a person I would probably think I’m a hypocrite. I love animals; I think they are cool and would love to have a pet some day. Then again I also love to eat chicken and beef and turkey! You would think that by the way I talk about my feelings toward animals that I wouldn’t be able to bring them but I guess it’s just the way I was brought up. My parents have always wanted me to try different foods and for the most part I have.

               I would have to say my moral viewpoint on animals is that they are all really fascinating creatures and deserve to be treated better than the way that we treat them but I think our dependence on them has gone too far.  

Image

 

This is a picture of the pugs! (Left to right) Jackson, Chewy, and Chloe. 

 

Image

Here are the bunnies! (Left to right) Chuey, and Cody.

One thought on “Pets!

  1. Nice reflective point about ‘yourself’. But it’s a complex enough question, so don’t be so hard on yourself!

Leave a comment